MIRRORED

My response to this prompt

When I look in the mirror, I wish I could change myself just as easily as I change my clothes. I wish I could reach out, with a pencil and eraser, and just correct all the imperfections that mar the image reflected back at me. I wish I could correct my own face as easily as I would a pencil drawing, to move and manipulate the lines that make up me to my satisfaction. I wish I could redraw my nose, and erase the darkness off my eyebrows. I wish I could thicken my lips with the red pencil crayon, and enlarge my eyes with sweeping pen strokes. I wish I could correct my jawline, rounding the edges and making it less square. I wish I could colour my hair a shiny black, glowing dark red under the light. I wish I could repaint the strands, render them silky and smooth. I wish I could remake myself as I see fit.

When I look in the mirror, I wish I could see the real me. I wish I could see the me that swears at everyone who pisses me off. I wish I could see the me that matches up to my mind, not the childish thing that I act out to be. I wish I could see the pain inside, so I would know that others can see it too, and might realize that I’m not okay; that I need somebody. I wish I could see the me that could make sarcastic remarks on the spot, make a joke that has everyone laughing, make people like me for me, and not for the fake that I pretend to be.

When I look into the mirror, I wish I could see another me. I wish I could see the me with my chin up high, spine lined up straight, shoulders rolled back, and an air of confidence about me. I wish I could see the me with a pretty face, a beautiful body, and a witty mind. I wish I could see the me with many friends, the me that everyone would love. I wish I could see the me with no flaws, with no shyness and no irrevocable need to shy away from contact with others. I wish I could see me as someone else but me, anyone else but me. 

7 thoughts on “MIRRORED

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  5. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries

  6. Pingback: Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  7. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Silhouette of Distortion” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

